Home > Uncategorized > Spectacularly Unproductive Day

Spectacularly Unproductive Day

12 September 2006

I started a new job, 1 month & 10 days ago. In this new job, I’m learning as much as I can about a massive database update process. There’s a few problems with this, namely:

  • The process is almost completely undocumented.
  • The stuff that has been documented is all automated and so I don’t really have to worry about it (much).
  • And oh yeah, they’ve never successfully run the process 100% through before.

On top of all that, I have to learn double-quick as my supervisor is pregnant and her due date is within the next week or so.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Today, I spent just under 8 hours trying to manually match up some new data with our existing data and it was only at 5 minutes till quitting time that I realized I’d made an invalid assumption in how the matching process works and would have to start all over again.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Categories: Uncategorized
